Frequently Asked Questions

Previous 3 of 13 Next
Number 3
How does MAPPA work?
All MAPPA offenders are assessed to establish the level of risk of harm they pose to the public. Risk management plans are then worked out for each offender to manage those risks. MAPPA allows agencies to assess and manage offenders on a multi-agency basis by working together, sharing information and meeting, as
necessary, to ensure that effective plans are put in place.

There are three levels of MAPPA management. They are mainly based upon the level of multiagency co-operation required with higher risk cases tending to be managed at the higher levels. Offenders will be moved up and down levels, as appropriate.

Level 1 – Ordinary agency management is for offenders who can be managed by one or two agencies (e.g. police and/or probation). It will involve sharing information about the offender with other agencies, if necessary and appropriate.

Level 2 – Active multi-agency management is for offenders where the ongoing involvement of several agencies is needed to manage the offender. Once at level 2, there will be regular Multi-Agency Public Protection (MAPP) meetings about the offender.

Level 3 – Same arrangements as level 2 but cases qualifying for level 3 tend to be more demanding on resources and require the involvement of senior people from the agencies, who can authorise the use of extra resources. For example, surveillance on an offender or emergency accommodation.

It is not possible to eliminate all risks and some offenders continue to pose a risk to others and may cause harm to another person. Through these arrangements, we can take every available measure to manage and reduce the risk.