Categories & Levels


There are three categories of violent and sexual offenders who are managed through MAPPA.

Category 1 - Registered sexual offenders are required to notify the police of their name, address and other personal details, under the terms of the Sexual Offences Act 2003. The length of time an offender is required to register with the Police can be any period between 12 months and life, depending on the age of the offender, the age of the victim, the nature of the offence and the sentence received.

Category 2 - Violent offenders who have been sentenced to 12 months or more in custody or to detention in hospital and are now living in the community subject to Probation supervision.

Category 3 - Other dangerous offenders who have committed an offence in the past and are considered to pose a risk of serious harm to the public.


There are three levels of MAPPA management. They are mainly based upon the level of multi-agency co-operation required with higher risk cases tending to be managed at the higher levels. Offenders will be moved up and down levels as appropriate.

Level 1 - Ordinary agency management is for offenders who can be managed by one or two agencies (eg Police and/or Probation). It will involve sharing information about the offender with other agencies if necessary and appropriate.

Level 2 - Active multi-agency management is for offenders where the ongoing involvement of several agencies is needed to manage the offender. Once at level 2, there will be regular multi-agency public protection meetings about the offender.

Level 3 - Same arrangements as level 2 but cases qualifying for level 3 tend to be more demanding on resources and require the involvement of senior people from the agencies, who can authorise the use of extra resources. For example , surveillance on an offender or emergency accommodation. 

 Click here for MAPPA Guidance Chapter 7 - Levels of Management

 Click here for MAPPA Guidance Chapter 6 - Identification and Notification of MAPPA Offenders 

 Useful links

Sexual Offences Act Schedule 3  

Sexual Offences Act Schedule 5

Schedule 15 Criminal Justice Act 2003